Friday Fictioneers: Camp

adamickes-childsbootsAnd on the last night of summer camp we kissed. My heart tumbled like rocks down a hill. I felt like I was twenty stories tall and strong like a herd of elephants.

My hair stood on end and my blood fizzed like it was coca-cola.

I worried that if we stopped I would float away, leaving nothing but the love of my life and a pair of boots waiting for me on the ground.

When camp was over we never saw each other again but now, years later, I still have those boots.

And I still have that kiss.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Another Friday Fictioneers story with prompt supplied by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

8 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Camp

  1. This was fantastic from beginning to end! The descriptive narrative in the first two paragraphs is so evocative and so real. I loved the line about his blood fizzing like coca-cola. And the last line of the story is perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

