Friday Fictioneers: The Dire-Man (pt 6)

Earlier parts of The Dire-Man can be found here: OneTwoThreeFourFive

Copyright-John Nixon

To reach the house of the Dire-Man I climbed a hill, crossed a stream and eventually entered a forest.

The forest had waited for me. A path revealed itself as I approached.

Gnarled branches rose from the ground like ancient, grabbing fingers. Sound bled from the boughs of the trees. The weeping of my wife as she tried to find a photograph of our child to give to the police and the high-pitched squealing of my son, along with the sound of a knife cutting through flesh and bone.

And a voice reminding me that this was all my fault.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Another Friday Fictioneers story with prompt supplied by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

 

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: The Dire-Man (pt 6)

  1. Brilliant. I am inspired… dare I attempt to string together a series of my own? I don’t have an answer to that right now, but truly I am impressed by your tenacity and the coherency of the story while still incorporating each prompt. I tip my pen to you, sir. :>

    Like

Leave a Reply

