2016 Reading Plan

ReadyPlayerOne RD 1 finals 2

I don’t know why but my reading has really fallen off in the past few years. Actually, that’s a lie. I know why my reading has fallen off in the past few years. It’s fallen off because rather than reading before bed I usually find myself on my iPad or phone checking Twitter or reading IMDB trivia. I could blame it on my “busy” lifestyle but in the year I got married and moved from Turkey to England and then to Australia I read 100 books so it’s not an issue of being too busy to read. It’s just laziness and being easily distracted.

I have a great book collection that keeps getting bigger without me reading any of them. It’s counter-productive for a lot of reasons, especially as I find that when I’m reading I write more. I take inspiration from the books I’m reading in terms of style but also the fact that this book, the book I’m reading, got published so why can’t I?

In order to get back into it I’m setting myself a soft challenge for 2016. I have to read at least one book per month. It’s a pittance compared to previous years and my reading numbers but it will provide the structure needed to get me back into it.

Each book will be read and reviewed and reading two books in a single month does not count towards the next month. Also each book has to be a new book and longer than 200 pages.

January’s book is Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One.

Leave a Reply

